Subject Guides: Government Information at HCC Library: Federal Information

Legislative Branch Information

govinfo.gov
Provides free public access to more than a million official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government..
more...less...
Govinfo is the new redesigned front door to the public FDsys website accessing the same official, preserved content that GPO has made available through FDsys for the last seven years.
United States Congressional Serial Set
"The United States Congressional Serial Set collection was digitized by the Law Library of Congress, and is made publicly available through a partnership between the U.S. Government Publishing Office and the Law Library of Congress. The joint digitization project is a multi-year effort. Additional volumes of the Serial Set will be added to this collection as they are available.
Congress.gov
Official website for U.S. federal legislative informatio
Legislative Branch Innovation Hub
The Innovation Hub seeks to highlight Legislative branch activities that use technology to cultivate collaboration, foster data standardization, and increase transparency.
Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress 1774-Present
United States House of Representatives
Official web site of the U.S. House of Representatives.
United States Senate
Official web site of the United States Senate.
Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives
Official web site of the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives.
Congressional Research Service Reports available online at Congress.gov
The CRS reports present a legislative perspective on topics such as agriculture policy, counterterrorism operations, banking regulation, veteran’s issues and others.. They provide authoritative and confidential research and analysis for Congress’ deliberative use. The Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2018 directs the Library to also make CRS reports publicly available online
Congressional Research Service Reports, archive hosted by UNT Digital Library
Site aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different Web sites since 1990.
U.S. Code
The United States Code prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel (OLRC) of the United States House of Representatives
U.S. Code (1994-present)
U.S. Statutes at Large (1951-2012)
Public & Private Laws (SLIP Laws 1995-present)
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
(Lexis-Nexis) Comprehensive database for news, business, legal, medical, and general reference sources. You can also validate your legal research more quickly and completely with their Shepard's Citations Service. Shepard’s helps you easily confirm that your case law citations are still good law.
WestlawNext Campus Research Available ON-CAMPUS, only
A comprehensive database for state and federal cases and statutes, including law encyclopedias and law reviews. Provides the same content as Westlaw Campus Research (Classic Edition), but with an updated interface!
U. S. Congressional Documents and Debates
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation collection from the Library of Congress American Memory.
Historical Documents at USA.gov
Yale Law School "The Avalon Project"
"Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy"
Legislative Source Book
Resources from the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C.
Sources and Tools to the Federal Register
Resources from the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C.
Sources and Tools to the Code of Federal Regulations
Resources from the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C.
Sources for the Congressional Record: Free and Commercial
Resources from the Law Librarians' Society of Washington , D.C.
Congressional Record Search
From the Library of Congress
Congressional Record from 1994 to present
Congressional Record Index from 1983 to present
Congressional Hearings from 1945 to present
Congressional Reports 1821 to present
Congressional Documents 1817 to present
Committees of the U.S. Congress
From Congress.gov
Primary Documents in American History
From Library of Congress Web Guides
Library of Congress Research Guides – Business & Labor History Primary Resources
Chronicling America Historic Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1770-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Race and Ethnicity Keyword Thesaurus for Chronicling America
Race and Ethnicity Keyword Thesaurus for Chronicling America from The Library of Congress.
Journals of the Continental Congress, 1774-1791
From the Library of Congress
Journal from the House of Representatives (summary of daily proceedings), 1789-1873
From the Library of Congress
Journal of the House of Representatives (summary of daily proceedings)
From the Govinfo.gov
USA Government Documents at The Internet Archive
Browse U.S. Civil War documents
From Cornell University Library Making of America collection.
A Few Nation Votes
"A searchable collection of election returns from the earliest years of American democracy."

Executive Branch Information

govinfo.gov
Provides free public access to more than a million official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government..
more...less...
Govinfo is the new redesigned front door to the public FDsys website accessing the same official, preserved content that GPO has made available through FDsys for the last seven years.
The White House
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
Online access through the Federal Digital System (FDsys) to The Public Papers of the Presidents, which is compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration,
Public Papers of the Presidents
Information about the Public Papers of the Presidents from the National Archives
Compilation of Presidential Documents
Presidential Libraries
American President: Presidential Speech Archive
The Scripps Library, through cooperation with various presidential libraries, has been collecting some of the most important presidential speeches in American history. These speeches all have transcripts, and some are available in their entirety in audio or video.
The White House President Barack Obama Archive
Note - this is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.
National Archives and Records Administration
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper of valuable records are preserved and are available for viewing.
FRUS (Foreign Relations of the United States)
"Prepared and issued by the Department of State since 1861, FRUS is a compilation of selected documents from the files of the Department of State, the White House, and other agencies."
U.S. Government Accountability Office
U.S. General Services Administration
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
"Full listing of all Federal programs available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals."
U.S. Department of Education Reform
Affordable Care Act - U.S. Department of Labor
Data Tools of the Bureau of Labor Statistics
From the U.S. Department of Labor
Bureaus & Offices of the U.S. Department of the Interior
Includes links to: Bureau of Indian Affairs, Bureau of Land Management, Bureau of Ocean Energy Management, Bureau of Reclamation, Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement, National Park Service, Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, U.S. Geological Survey.
U.S. Geological Survey
"The USGS is a science organization that provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, the natural hazards that threaten us, the natural resources we rely on, the impacts of climate and land-use change, and the core science systems that help us provide timely, relevant, and useable information."
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Publications Warehouse
National Park Service
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
National Technical Reports Library - U.S. Department of Commerce
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
The American Presidency Project
Source of Presidential documents on the Internet, hosted by the University of California, Santa Barbara.
U.S. Small Business Association
U.S. Small Business Administration – Register Your Business
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook
U.S. Department of Labor
U.S. Department of Labor – Wage & Hour Division – New & Small Businesses
U.S. Census Bureau
U.S. Census Business Builder
U.S. Department of Commerce
U.S. General Services Administration – Small Business
U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission – EDGAR

Judicial Branch Information

govinfo.gov
Provides free public access to more than a million official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government..
more...less...
Govinfo is the new redesigned front door to the public FDsys website accessing the same official, preserved content that GPO has made available through FDsys for the last seven years.
Supreme Court of the United States
United States Courts
Federal Judicial Branch at USA.gov
PACER - Public Access to Court Electronic Records
"Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER) is an electronic public access service that allows users to obtain case and docket information online from federal appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts, and the PACER Case Locator. PACER is provided by the Federal Judiciary in keeping with its commitment to providing public access to court information via a centralized service."
Federal Judicial Center
"The Federal Judicial Center is the education and research agency for the federal courts."
U.S. Courts of Appeals Cases at JUSTIA US Law
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Virtual Library
A searchable database of more than 7,000 full-text reports and publications in crime, criminal justice, victims, prison populations, drugs, court systems and corrections.
ProQuest Criminal Justice
(Proquest) (Criminal Justice Periodicals Index) This comprehensive database focuses on U.S. and international criminal justice journals, providing research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law and industrial security.

Library Catalog Quick Search

Citation Guides for Government Information

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window

How to Cite U.S. Government Documents in APA Citation Style: Home
From Cornell University Library.
U.S. Government Documents: The Presidency, Congress, the Courts, & Agency Regulations: Citing Government Documents
From Cornell University Library.
Citing Government Documents
From Coates Library, Trinity University.
APA Citation Style, 7th edition: Government Publication
From Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library, George Washington University.
Citation Guide for U.S. Congressional Documents
Historic legislative materials citation guide from The Library of Congress.
Citing Records in the National Archives of the United States
Leaflet from the National Archives.
Getting Started with Primary Sources
Getting Started with Primary Sources from The Library of Congress.
Citing Primary Sources
more...less...
Citing Primary Sources from The Library of Congress.
How to Cite Data - Michigan State University Libraries
Data requires citations for the same reasons journal articles and other types of publications require citations: to acknowledge the original author/producer and to help other researchers find the resource.

Mobile Government Apps for On the Go!

See the mobile app gallery for government apps at USA.gov for Android and Apple devices and mobile sittes to search information at your fingertips!