Government Information at HCC Library

A listing of publicly searchable databases produced by agencies of the State of Maryland. This list organized by the Government Documents Round Table (GODORT) of the American Library Association.

The office of Federal Student Aid provides publications, fact sheets, online tools, and other resources to help you prepare and pay for college or career school.

Office of Federal Student Aid's informational website for students and parents.

A digital library of resources about deaf culture from the Maryland DCDL Advisory Board of the Deaf Culture Digital Library.

Provides comprehensive library services to the eligible blind and physically handicapped residents of the State of Maryland.

Program of the National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped from the Library of Congress. It is a free braille and talking book library service for people with temporary or permanent low vision, blindness, or a physical disability that prevents them from reading or holding the printed page.

Online access to information from across 17 Federal government agencies to help citizens understand which benefit programs they may be eligible for, or how to apply.

The Maryland Public Library Toolkit is a project of the Legal Information Services to the Public (LISP) Special Interest Section of the American Association of Law Library. It contains guides to all 50 states for reference matters related to law, including links to self-help materials, primary source materials for all branches of Maryland law, and a directory of Maryland public law libraries.

Demographics, population, housing, and economic information in Maryland.

The Historic Maryland Newspapers Project is an ongoing effort to digitize Maryland's newspapers and make them accessible for free on the Library of Congress' "Chronicling America" website.

The Maryland Courts Self-Help Center is staffed by licensed attorneys who work directly with individuals who contact the Center by phone or online chat. The Center’s expanded hours provide further convenience for customers.

The Maryland Business Express site makes it easier for business owners and entrepreneurs to plan, start, manage, and grow their business! This website combines information previously spread across many state agencies into one, easy-to-navigate site, while also providing a clear outline of the steps involved in starting a business.

The Maryland SBDC provides assistance to business owners and entrepreneurs seeking to start, grow or better manage their companies through no cost consulting, low cost training, market research, and support.

Provides detailed demographic data on school districts throughout the U.S. as compiled from Census data and the American Community data survey.

The Knowledge Center provides the tools and information you need to better understand complex policy situations and help you make better decisions for your state. It includes State Data, Policy Areas, fact sheets, and state legislative and executive branch decisions.

Provides full text for 4000 academic social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals.

From Cornell University Library.

From University of Nevada, Reno, University Libraries, Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center.

From the University of Memphis University Libraries.

Historic legislative materials citation guide from The Library of Congress.

Leaflet from the National Archives.