Subject Guides: ENG 101 English Composition: Writing Help Books & Sites

Writing Help Websites

Here are some websites to help you write a better paper. Check out these sites for tips on grammar, summarizing, citing, avoiding plagiarism, revising drafts and more.

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
The Purdue OWL offers over 200 free resources including:
writing, research, grammar and mechanics, and style guides.
MLA Style Center
The MLA Style Center offers tips for formatting your research paper in MLA style, citation practice, and other useful tools for MLA style writing.
How to Recognize Plagiarism: Paraphrasing (Indiana University Bloomington)
Offers examples of correct and incorrect paraphrasing.

DVDs

Research skills for students: avoiding plagiarism [dvd] / by produced and directed by Fabian-Baber, Inc.
Call Number: X PN167 .A96 2004
ISBN: 9781572259942
Publication Date: c2004.
HCC Video Collection (2nd floor)
Writing a great research paper [dvd] / by Video Aided Instruction
Call Number: X PE1478 .W758 2007, Vols. 1-10
ISBN: 9781573851916
Publication Date: 2007
HCC Video Collection (2nd floor)
Upgrade your writing: 5, building paragraphs [dvd]/ by Video Aided Instruction
Call Number: X PE1404 .U64 2008
ISBN: 9781573852159
Publication Date: 2008
HCC Video Collection (2nd floor)

Books

EasyWriter with Exercises by Andrea A. Lunsford
Call Number: PE1408 .L86 2019
ISBN: 9781319152413
Publication Date: 2018-12-17
Excuse Me, Your Participle's Dangling by Catherine DePino
Call Number: PE1313 .D47 2013
ISBN: 9781475802764
Publication Date: 2013-02-07
HCC Main Collection (3rd floor)
Polishing Your Prose by Steven M. Cahn; Victor L. Cahn; Mary Ann Caws (Foreword by)
Call Number: PE1408 .C24 2013
ISBN: 9780231160889
Publication Date: 2013-03-26
HCC Main Collection (3rd floor)
Short Guide to College Writing by Sylvan Barnet; Pat Bellanca; Marcia Stubbs
Call Number: PE1408 .B4315 2013
ISBN: 9780205238613
Publication Date: 2012-01-12
HCC Main Collection (3rd floor)
The Elements of Style by William Strunk Jr.
Call Number: REF PE1408 .S772 2012
ISBN: 9781612931104
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
REFERENCE (2nd floor) In-library use only
The Student's Guide to Writing by John Peck; Martin Coyle
Call Number: PE1112 .P39 2012
ISBN: 9780230373884
Publication Date: 2012-09-04
HCC Main Collection (3rd floor)
MLA Handbook (8th ed.) by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2016 8th ed.
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
HCC Main Collection (3rd floor)

ENG 101 English Composition: Writing Help Books & Sites

Library Catalog Quick Search

Writing Help Websites

DVDs

Books