Subject Guides: CMST 105 Interpersonal Communication: Research Databases

Search Tips

When searching databases, remember the following:

You are using keywords, the words you expect to be used in your article, and not subjects.
Use the Boolean Operators, AND, OR and NOT.
Be very specific to locate articles that will help you the most.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for 4000 academic social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals
Countries and Their Cultures This link opens in a new window
Focuses on cultures and countries around the world, specifically what is and is not shared culturally by the people who live in a particular country. Entries contain descriptive summaries of the country in question, including demographic, historical, cultural, economic, religious, and political information
Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the archives of over 390 academic journals in the arts and sciences
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering over 160 subjects. It includes the full-text of over 400 newspapers, nearly 30,000 dissertations and millions of articles from scholarly journals
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Search full-text periodicals covering the social sciences
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text for 400 core journals in the field of sociology, as well as the full-text of more than 700 books