Subject Guides: DRAM 203 Survey of World Drama: Research Databases

Search Tips

When searching the databases, remember that you are keyword searching. This means you are looking for specific words to appear in the article. Use the Boolean operator AND to connect your terms. Ex: Shakespeare AND death. The database will retrieve ONLY articles that have BOTH of those words in them. Use quotation marks around phrases; Ex: "chinese drama" AND costumes.

LitFinder: Find Full-Text Works

LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Includes approximately 140,000 full-text poems, 7,100 full-text classic and contemporary short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays and 1,700 full-text plays. More than 660 nationalities and ethnicities are represented by the authors.

Literature Databases

Locate articles using these online databases.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text criticism, biographical and other information on 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Formerly Bloom's Literary Reference Online. Contains authoritative critical essays, biographies, overviews, topics and themes for literature from the earliest times to the present.
Arts & Humanities This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Salem Press: Literature This link opens in a new window
Salem Literature is a great place to investigate the connections between authors and works of profound and lasting cultural influence. Writers in all genres are profiled by respected literary critics in our new Critical Insights series.
Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new window
A completely full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the archives of over 390 academic journals in the arts and sciences.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
This is an online version of the massive, multi-volume dictionary. Modern as well as historical definitions of words are given. Every three months, new additions are added and revisions are made.