Subject Guides: Astronomy: Research Databases

Search Tips

When searching databases, follow these tips:

Use keywords, words you expect to locate in your article.
Use quotation marks around phrases or concepts of two or more words, e.g., "apollo mission".
Combine your keywords with boolean operators:
- Using AND will retrieve articles that contain all of your keywords, e.g., apollo AND "moon landing".
- Using OR will retrieve articles that contain one or more of your keywords, e.g., (mars OR planets).
- Using NOT will retrieve articles that do not contain a specific keyword, e.g., moon NOT "apollo mission".

Locate articles using these online databases.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for 4000 academic social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of scholarly and scientific journals that are available without cost to users and their institutions. The journal must exercise peer-review or editorial quality control to be included in the database.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the archives of over 390 academic journals in the arts and sciences.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering over 160 subjects. It includes the full-text of over 400 newspapers, nearly 30,000 dissertations and millions of articles from scholarly journals.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history.