Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
“Sometimes, I feel discriminated against, but it does not make me
angry. It merely astonishes me. How can any deny themselves the
pleasure of my company? It’s beyond me.”
"No man may make another free."
"Learning without wisdom is a load of books on a donkey's back"
"There is something about poverty that smells like death. Dead dreams
dropping off the heart like leaves in a dry season and rotting around
"The present was an egg laid by the past that had the future inside its shell."
" I am not tragically colored. There is no great sorrow dammed up in my soul, nor lurking behind my eyes. I do not mind at all."
Books about Hurston
Cambridge Introduction to Zora Neale Hurston
Call Number: PS3515.U789Z763 2008
Hitting a Straight Lick with a Crooked Stick
Call Number: PS3515.U789Z785 2001
Social Rituals and the Verbal Art of Zora Neale
Call Number: PS3515.U789 Z715 1996
Zora Neale Hurston's Their Eyes Were Watching God
Call Number: PS3515.U789 T639 2008
Zora Neale Hurston: A Literary Biography
Call Number: PS3515.U789 Z7 1980
Zora Neale Hurston: An American Original
Zora Neale Hurston Speaks
Articles and Databases
Bloom's Literary Reference Online
Contains authoritative critical essays, biographies, overviews, topics and themes for literature from the earliest times to the present.
Offers full-text content from encyclopedias, dictionaries and thesuari, and covers such subjects as art, history, literature, medicine, technology and more.
Literary Reference Center
A completely full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.
Books by Hurston
Complete Stories by
Call Number: PS3515.U789A6 2008
Dust Tracks on a Road by
Call Number: PS3515.U789 Z465 1996
Moses, Man of the Mountain by
Call Number: PS3515.U789 M6 1991
Call Number: PS3515.U789M84 2008
Mules and Men by
Call Number: GR111.A47H86 2008
Tell my Horse: Voodoo and Life in Haiti and Jamaica by
Call Number: BL2490.H88 2009
The Sanctified Church by
Call Number: PS3515.U789 S26 1997
Their Eyes Were Watching God by
Call Number: PS3515.U789T5 2006
Zora Neale Hurston: Collected Plays
Call Number: PS3515.U789 2008