Subject Guides: Human Trafficking: Home

Library Catalog Quick Search

Search Tips

Try a keyword search:

Human exploitation
Human rights
Human rights violations
Human smuggling
Human trafficking
Human trafficking AND transportation
Human trafficking victims
Labor exploitation
Slave trade
Organized crime
Women AND abuse

eBooks

Modern Slavery in Global Context by Elizabeth Faulkner (Editor)
ISBN: 9781529224702
Publication Date: 2024
Not a Choice, Not a Job by Janice G. Raymond
ISBN: 9781612346274
Publication Date: 2013
Human Trafficking by John H. Coverdale (Editor); Mollie R. Gordon (Editor); Phuong T. Nguyen (Editor)
ISBN: 9781615372485
Publication Date: 2020
Preventing Child Trafficking by Jonathan Todres; Angela Diaz
ISBN: 9781421433011
Publication Date: 2019
Human Trafficking by Laura J. Lederer
ISBN: 9781440881206
Publication Date: 2024
Taking down Backpage by Maggy Krell
ISBN: 9781479803040
Publication Date: 2022
Modern Slavery by Siddharth Kara
ISBN: 9780231158466
Publication Date: 2017
Trafficking Chains by Sylvia Walby; Karen A. Shire
ISBN: 9781529232356
Publication Date: 2024
Combating Human Trafficking by Veerendra Mishra
ISBN: 9789351502531
Publication Date: 2019
A Transnational Human Rights Approach to Human Trafficking by Yoon Jin Shin
ISBN: 9789004311138
Publication Date: 2017

Human Trafficking: Maryland Web Sources

National Human Trafficking Hotline - Maryland
The National Human Trafficking Hotline provides information about local organizations and referrals, current criminal statutes, and NHTRC call statistics.
USDOJ: US Attorney's Office - District of Maryland
The USDOJ provides information about Maryland's Human Trafficking Task Force (MHTTF), in addition to examples of recent human trafficking prosecutions in Maryland.
Human Trafficking - Governor’s Office of Crime Prevention, Youth, and Victim Services
The GOCCP provides resources about human trafficking and for human trafficking victims.
The Maryland Human Trafficking Task Force (MHTTF)
"The Maryland Human Trafficking Task Force (MHTTF) is the state's primary organization that works to prevent trafficking, protect victims by providing them with the services they need, prosecute traffickers, and partner with a variety of organizations to eradicate the scourge of human trafficking from our communities."

Web Sources

Print Books to Check Out of the Library

Criminal Capital by Stephen Platt
Call Number: HV6768 .P585
ISBN: 9781137337290
Publication Date: 2015
Main Collection, 3rd Floor
Shades of Deviance by Rowland Atkinson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415733229
Publication Date: 2014
Main Collection, 3rd Floor
Human Trafficking by Bandana Purkayastha; Farhan Navid Yousaf
ISBN: 9781509521302
Publication Date: 2018
Main Collection, 3rd Floor
Human Trafficking by Sasha Jesperson; Rune Henriksen; Anne-Marie Barry; Michael Jones
ISBN: 1787381285
Publication Date: 2019
Human Trafficking by Alexis A. Aronowitz
ISBN: 9781440834844
Publication Date: 2017
Main Collection, 3rd Floor
Modern Slavery by Siddharth Kara
Call Number: HQ281 .K367 2023
ISBN: 0231158475
Publication Date: 2023
Main Collection, 3rd Floor
Wonder Girls by Paola Gianturco; Musimbi Kanyoro (Foreword by); Alex Sangster
Call Number: HQ799.2.P6 G53 2017
ISBN: 1576878228
Publication Date: 2017

Films On Demand

CNN: The Freedom Project
"CNN's Freedom Project shines a spotlight on the horrors of modern-day slavery, highlighting success stories and helping unravel the complicated tangle of human trafficking."
Frontline: Sex Trafficking in America (2019)
"Exposing the hidden reality of sex trafficking, inside a police unit and a victim’s harrowing story. Filmed over three years, a look at how victims are groomed and sold and innovative ways undercover police target traffickers and buyers."
Mama Illegal: Undocumented in Western Europe (2011)
"Putting their trust and safety in the hands of illicit traffickers, three mothers from a bleak Moldovan village make their way to Austria and Italy, where they find work as cleaners or care workers."
Southern Exposure: Causes and Consequences of Illegal Immigration (2010)
"Three years in the making, Southern Exposure tears down a curtain of lies, half-truths, and misinformation to scrutinize the many aspects of illegal immigration from Mexico to the United States" .
Trapped: A Look at the Sex Trade (2007)
"Each year an estimated two million women and children are tricked, beaten, raped, and forced by threat of death into the world’s growing sex trade. This heartbreaking film follows women selling sex—from the blistering villages in Africa they can never again call home to the cold, lonely streets of Europe".

Databases

Locate articles using these online databases.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for 4000 academic social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
The Congressional Quarterly explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Offers online access dating back to October 25, 1991.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text content from encyclopedias, dictionaries and thesuari, and covers such subjects as art, history, literature, medicine, technology and more.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center contains full text of more than 2,200 digests as well as citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals.
Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events in the news. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context is a truly non-U.S. centric resource that ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues. You can browse by issues and topics, view streaming video, or search by region of the world using an interactive world map.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of more than 7,000 full-text reports and publications in crime, criminal justice, victims, prison populations, drugs, court systems and corrections.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering over 160 subjects. It includes the full-text of over 400 newspapers, nearly 30,000 dissertations and millions of articles from scholarly journals.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Collection provides full text access or abstracts for periodicals in criminal justice and law enforcement.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text for 400 core journals in the field of sociology, as well as the full-text of more than 700 books.

Contact Us

Harford Community College Library

Contact:

librarians@harford.edu

443-412-2131

Library Hours

January 27- May 17

Mon - Thurs: 8 am - 8 pm

Friday: 8 am - 4:30 pm

Saturday: 10 am - 2 PM

Sunday: Closed

March 23 - 29: Closed (Spring Break)