Skip to Main Content

Voices of Change (HHH exhibit): Social Movements & Protests

A companion library subject guide to the "Voices of Change" exhibit, featured at HCC's Hayes Heigh House, November 18th , 2015

Protest & Social Change

Collective Action for Social Change by Aaron Schutz; Marie G. Sandy
Call Number: HN65 .S4294 2012
ISBN: 9780230111257
Publication Date: 2012-04-15
3rd Floor, Main Collection
Protest Camps by Anna Feigenbaum; Fabian Frenzel; Patrick McCurdy
Call Number: HN17.5 .F45 2013
ISBN: 9781780323565
Publication Date: 2013-10-10
3rd Floor, Main Collection
Activism and Social Change by Eric Shragge
Call Number: HM766 .S57 2013
ISBN: 9781442606272
Publication Date: 2013-05-14
3rd Floor, Main Collection
What Is a Social Movement? by Hank Johnston
Call Number: HM881 .J646 2014
ISBN: 9780745660851
Publication Date: 2014-04-14
3rd Floor, Main Collection
Protest: A Cultural Introduction to Social Movements by James M. Jasper
Call Number: HM881 .J37 2014
ISBN: 9780745655178
Publication Date: 2014-10-20
3rd Floor, Main Collection
The Social Movements Reader by Jeff Goodwin (Editor); James M. Jasper (Editor)
Call Number: HM881 .S64 2015
ISBN: 9781118729793
Publication Date: 2014-12-31
Principles of Social Change by Leonard A. Jason
Call Number: HM831 .J37 2013
ISBN: 9780199841851
Publication Date: 2013-01-21
3rd Floor, Main Collection
American Protest Literature by Zoe Trodd (Editor); John Stauffer (Foreword by); Howard Zinn (Afterword by)
Call Number: HN90 .R3A6754 2006
ISBN: 0674023528
Publication Date: 2006-11-30
3rd Floor, Main Collection

Historical Events

Speaking Out by Heather Ann Thompson
Call Number: E839.5 .S64 2010
ISBN: 9780131942141
Publication Date: 2009-06-08
3rd Floor, Main Collection
American Patriotism, American Protest by Simon Hall
Call Number: HN59 .H235 2011
ISBN: 9780812242959
Publication Date: 2010-11-09
3rd Floor, Main Collection
Generation on Fire: Voices of Protest from the 1960s by Jeff Kisseloff
Call Number: E840.6 .K57 2007
ISBN: 0813124166
Publication Date: 2006-12-29
3rd Floor, Main Collection
Love Canal Revisited by Elizabeth D. Blum
Call Number: GE235 .N7B58 2008
ISBN: 9780700615605
Publication Date: 2008-03-19
3rd Floor, Main Collection
Peace and Freedom by Simon Hall
Call Number: E185.615 .H274 2005
ISBN: 0812238397
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
3rd Floor, Main Collection
America in White, Black, and Gray by Klaus P. Fischer
Call Number: E841 .F49 2006
ISBN: 0826418163
Publication Date: 2006-04-18
Main Collection, 3rd Floor
The Civil Rights Movement in American Memory by Renee Christine Romano; Leigh Raiford (Editor); Renee C. Romano (Editor)
Call Number: E185.615 .C587 2006
ISBN: 9780820328140
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
3rd Floor, Main Collection
1968: The Year That Rocked The World by Mark Kurlansky
Call Number: D848 .K87 2005
ISBN: 0345455827
Publication Date: 2005-01-11
3rd Floor, Main Collection
Dreaming in Public: Building the Occupy Movement by Amy Schrager Lang; Daniel Lang/Levitsky
Call Number: HN18.3 .D74 2012
ISBN: 9781780260846
Publication Date: 2012-06-12
3rd Floor, Main Collection
The Montgomery Bus Boycott by Jeff Hay (Editor)
Call Number: F334.M79 N455 2012
ISBN: 9780737757958
Publication Date: 2011-11-04
Main Collection, 3rd Floor
Queer America: A GLBT History of 20th Century America by Vicki L. Eaklor
Call Number: HQ76.3 .U5E35 2008
ISBN: 9780313337499
Publication Date: 2008-03-30
3rd Floor, Main Collection
Woodstock by Louise Gerdes (Editor)
Call Number: ML38.W66 W62 2012
ISBN: 9780737757989
Publication Date: 2011-10-07
3rd Floor, Main Collection
The Women's Liberation Movement by Sylvia Engdahl (Editor)
Call Number: HQ1421 .W6597 2012
ISBN: 9780737757903
Publication Date: 2012-03-09
3rd Floor, Main Collection
Framing the Black Panthers by Jane Rhodes
Call Number: E185.615 .R48 2007
ISBN: 9781565849617
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
3rd Floor, Main Collection

Protest & The Arts

Story Behind the Protest Song by Hardeep Phull
Call Number: ML3551.5 .P58 2008
ISBN: 9780313341410
Publication Date: 2008-10-30
3rd Floor, Main Collection
Behind the Lines by Philip Metres
Call Number: PS309 .P7M45 2007
ISBN: 9780877459989
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
3rd Floor, Main Collection
Words of Protest, Words of Freedom by Jeffrey Lamar Coleman (Editor)
Call Number: PS595.R32 W549 2012
ISBN: 9780822351030
Publication Date: 2012-03-09
3rd Floor, Main Collection
Woody Guthrie: Art Works by Woody Guthrie (Illustrator); Nora Guthrie; Jeff Tweedy (Contribution by); Billy Bragg (Contribution by); Steven Brower
Call Number: NC139.G88 A4 2005
ISBN: 0847827380
Publication Date: 2005-10-25
3rd Floor, Main Collection
Strange Fruit: by David Margolick; Hilton Als (Foreword by)
Call Number: ML3551 .M29 2000
ISBN: 0762406771
Publication Date: 2000-04-06
3rd Floor, Main Collection
Music of the Counterculture Era by James E. Perone
Call Number: ML3918 .P67P47 2004
ISBN: 0313326894
Publication Date: 2004-05-30
3rd Floor, Main Collection
American Civil Rights Literature by Julie Armstrong (Editor)
Call Number: PS228.C55 C36 2015
ISBN: 9781107059832
Publication Date: 2015-03-02
3rd Floor, Main Collection
The Art of Controversy: Political Cartoons and Their Enduring Power by Victor S. Navasky
Call Number: NC1763.P66 N38 2013
ISBN: 9780307957207
Publication Date: 2013-04-09
3rd Floor, Main Collection
Girls to the Front: The True Story of the Riot Grrrl Revolution by Sara Marcus
Call Number: ML82 .M27 2010
ISBN: 9780061806360
Publication Date: 2010-09-28
3rd Floor, Main Collection
The Riot Grrrl Collection by Lisa Darms (Editor); Johanna Fateman (Introduction by); Kathleen Hanna (Preface by)
Call Number: ML3534 .R536 2013
ISBN: 9781558618220
Publication Date: 2013-06-11
3rd Floor, Main Collection
Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt by Chris Hedges; Joe Sacco
Call Number: HC110.P6 H43 2012
ISBN: 9781568586434
Publication Date: 2012-06-12
3rd Floor, Main Collection