ENG 233 African-American Literature: Harford County Civil Rights Project

Harford Community College Library

401 Thomas Run Rd., Bel Air, MD

443-412-213

• Harford Historical Bulletin
• Project-relevant databases:
  • Arts & Humanities Database
  • Academic Search Premiere
  • Baltimore Sun Historical: searchable text, page and article images too
  • eBooks on EBSCOHost
  • EBSOHost Portal
  • Ethnic News Watch
  • Films on Demand (search “Freedom Riders” for example)
  • History Reference Center
  • JSTOR
  • NYTimes Historical

• HCPL Living Treasures project – 400+ interviews conducted, 292 online & transcribed, all interviews are available physically at the library; key tags: civil rights, African-Americans, others available at the Bel Air branch, VHS tapes
• Janice Grant interview of Living Treasures project – good to review, Carter Woodson
• Use “oral history” for searches, also for separate Berkeley School project
• Other primary & secondary source volumes in the Maryland room of the Bel Air branch, some material held at reference desk
• Harford Historical Bulletins are also kept at HCPL, all branches
• Historical Harford videos available: Colored Schools of Harford County, De-segregation
• Library database can also be searched for pictures
• Maryland Room Resources (Bel Air branch)
• Barbara Mills, Got My Mind Set on Freedom MDR305.896M
• Maryland Manuals for govt info
• Greetings from Havre de Grace, David Craig & Mary Martin. MDR741.683- postcards, including of Harford Memorial Hospital, original “consolidated” school (HdG HS); Lafayette Hotel & bus depot, 1947 site of American Legion Post; Chesapeake Court Hotel on rt. 40,- high point was1940s/50s, became Mid-Town Motel, Hotel Chesapeake & Restaurants, various restaurants, Greyhound
• Post House on rt. 40, two miles south of HdG: exterior & interior images
• Lawrence Lanahan, The Lines Between Us MDR363.51 (recent civil rights movement & race division in Balt., Bel Air refs., bibliography)
• Suzanne E. Chappelle & Glenn O. Phillips, African-American Leaders of Maryland: A Portrait Gallery
• (2004): history of MD African-Americans, including segregation & civil rights movement, ref. to 1963 Public
• Accommodation Law & housing desegregation push beg. 1965 [good detail on this], endnoted w/refs. & bibliogrpahy; also pictures & bio. sketches of:
  •  Lillie Carroll Jackson
  • Thurgood Marshall
  • Clarence Mitchell, Jr.
  • Pauli Murray
• Aberdeen Diamond Jubilee Historical Booklet MDR 975.274A: Note – school desegregation post-Brown: very interesting language
• [Note: key source ref. – Henderson Collection, Maryland Historical Society, Maryland State Advisory Commission to the United States Civil Rights Commission (1966 report)]
• Carol Deibel, Bel Air Chronicles [2012] MDR 975.274 – some material on civil rights era, schools de-seg. & KKK rallies around Bel Air into 1960s & H. Rap Brown trial
• Peter A. Jay,. ed., Havre de Grace: An Informal History [1994] MDR 975.274, ch. 10 – “Blacks in Havre de Grace”- good for education- HdG Consolidated, etc.,
• Bill Bates, Then & Now: Harford County [2005] MDR975.274 – image of the Argonne Theatre, downtown
• Bel Air – later the Belair theatre with note about its segregated balcony & outside stairs that led to it- 5 N. Main St.
• Carol Deibel & Kathi Santora, Legendary Locals of Bel Air [2016] MD 975.274 – note on Henry Wilson
• Archer & Shamrock mansion, known as Archer’s Hill & held by Archer family to 1955, Archers as “noted secessionists during the Civil War” – slave quarters & farm buildings
• Mazie Taylor, educator & youth organizer taught at Central Consolidated
• The Edgewood Scrapbook , Joseph Murray, Arthur & Amy Stuempfle, MDR 975.274M
• Constance R. Beims & Christine B. Tolbert, A Journey Through Berkley, Maryland: A Tapestry of Black and White Lives Together for over 200 Years at a Rural Crossroads [Baltimore: Gateway Press, 2003] MDR975.274B

143 N. Main St., Bel Air, MD

410-838-7691

Research hours:

• Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday: 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
• fourth Saturday of the month: 10 a.m.-2 p.m.
• third Wednesday of the month: 5-8 p.m.

Relevant records:

• The Aegis- hard copy
• Harford Historical Bulletin – see Winter/Spring 2006 on Colored Schools, W/Sp 2007 & 2008 on HCPS De-segregation & 1988 on Afro-American History, maybe the Susquehanna Baseball League too: 2001 & 2003, WWII: F1995, W2001
• Photograph files – card catalog with blue cards for subject: good for businesses like restaurants, etc.
• Hodge, David Collection for photos & postcards
• Dieter, Susan Collection for photos of Edgewood
• Vertical files for various topics
• Black History folder
• Tolbert, Christine P. Collection, HID files, others? (Harford Inter-racial Dialogues), begun 1968
• Dr. Percy Williams Papers (?) – [these are still being prepared for safe research, but we may be able to have access somehow…]
• C. Milton Wright Collection
• Harford County maps with aerial photos– set of maps from 1964, Drawer 7. Others listed as Maryland

Enoch Pratt Free Library

Central Library

400 Cathedral Street, Baltimore, MD

• Free “eCards” available online to all MD residents: access ebooks, research databases, etc. Maryland residents can also get a standard library card by visiting an EPFL branch. Print books can be returned to any public library in Maryland
  • Visit the databases page to see which resources are available to you with your EPFL library card.
• The Pratt has an extensive periodicals department. This includes the following:
  • The Baltimore Afro-American, indexed and including images of the newspaper editions as they were printed
  • Baltimore Sun newspaper, indexed and including images of the newspaper editions as they were printed
  • Other statewide local newspapers available on microfilm, including the following that are relevant for the project.
    • Aberdeen Enterprise
    • Aegis
    • Harford Gazette
    • Democratic Ledger (HdG)
    • Havre de Grace Record
• Their African-American Department has a lot of resources that may be helpful.
• The Maryland Department has a 1953 Harford County Directory, Sanborn maps, and business directories for Havre de Grace/Aberdeen for 1957, 1962,1966, 1971 & 1976, & County Directory for Harford Cty. beg. 1968-1969.