Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Documents at HCC Library

HCC Library has been a selective depository library in the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) since 1967. We receive government publications from the US Government Publishing Office through the FDLP in various formats.

Celebrating over 50 Years as a Federal Depository Library!

What is the Federal Depository Library Program

"Established by Congress to ensure the American public has access to its Government's information, the Federal Depository Library Program provides the public with Government information, when and where it is needed, in order to ensure an informed citizenry and an improved quality of life. The mission of the Federal Depository Library Program is to provide for no-fee ready and permanent public access to Federal Government information, now and for future generations.

This historic Government program has been in existence since 1813, and GPO has administered this program since 1895. GPO staff serve to provide this network of libraries with the tools they need to keep America informed.

Federal Government information, both in print and electronic formats, is distributed to over 1,150 Federal depository libraries throughout the United States, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories. These libraries, in turn, make this information freely available to the public and provide expert assistance in navigating the materials.

Use the Federal Depository Library Directory  to find your local Federal depository library."

- About Us / Govinfo / www.govinfo/about

Government Documents at HCC Library - YOUR FDLP Library!

"This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents collection is guaranteed by public law (Title 44 United States Code)." HCC Library is one of 54 Federal Depository Libraries in Maryland, Delaware, and D.C. that fall under the Regional Depository Library at the University of Maryland. HCC Library has been a selective depository library in the Federal Depository Library Program since 1967.

Locating publically accessible Government Publications at HCC Library:

  • Print government documents are integrated with the Main and Legal Reference Collections on the second and third floors using the Library of Congress Classification. Some are also in our Periodicals Collection on the second floor, and are alphabetized by periodical title. You can visit our library catalog to locate print materials, or stop at the Reference Desk to ask for assistance.
  • Look for these handy FDLP stickers on books and folders on the shelves!

 

  • Electronic government documents can be found in the library catalog. The catalog record will display a web address which will link you out to the full text. Look for the “Read This Now” links. You can also find articles relating to government information using our online databases and selecting the subject area "Government & Political Science" from the drop down menu.
  • DVD's, CD-Rom, and large map and poster documents are located on the second floor in Media Cabinets.

Library Catalog Quick Search

Search for books and media available at HCC Library.


 

HCC Library Books from Government Agencies

Citation Guides for Government Documents

Statistics, Census, and World Information Resources

Government E-Resources in Databases

Find journal/newspaper/magazine articles, eBooks, and videos:

HCC Library Celebrated 50 Years as a FDLP Library in 2017

Why HCC Library is a Federal Depository Library

Cornerstone Documents at govinfo.gov

Constitution of the United States (1787)

Constitution of the United States (1787)

From: http://www.ourdocuments.gov/doc.php?flash=true&doc=9

Follow this link for access to Cornerstone Documents: 

https://www.govinfo.gov/help/other-resources

Contact your Government Documents Librarian

HCC Library has been a Federal Depository Library since 1967.

Contact Info:
Andie Craley
acraley@harford.edu
443-412-2042

Need a Research Consultation?

Harford Community College Library's picture
Harford Community College Library
chat loading...

Schedule a Research Consultation

Contact:
443-412-2131
Website

Library Hours

Curbside Pickup:
Monday & Tuesday: 9:30 AM - 2:30 PM
Wednesday & Thursday: 9:30 AM - 2:30 PM; 5 - 7 PM

Online Reference: Monday – Thursday: 8 AM – 8 PM
Friday: 8 AM – 4 PM
Saturday: 10 AM – 2 PM

History of the GPO's Federal Depository Library Program

U.S. Government Publishing Office: Working with Libraries - YouTube video