Subject Guides: ANTH 102 Introduction to Cultural Anthropology: Research Databases & Websites

Background Info Databases & Websites

eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural and ethnographic database that contains descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is organized by cultures and ethnic groups, and every document is subject-indexed at the paragraph level, facilitating precise retrieval within documents.
eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new window
eHRAF Archaeology is an online cross-cultural database containing information on world’s prehistory. The annually-growing eHRAF database is organized by archaeological traditions and the documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. eHRAF Archaeology is a unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
A single source for eReference aimed at students, researchers, professionals, and general readers. It offers thousands of titles from more than 100 publishers covering the most-studied subject areas on one platform.
Countries and Their Cultures This link opens in a new window
Search within this publication (which is also part of Gale Virtual Reference Library). Focuses on cultures and countries around the world, specifically what is and is not shared culturally by the people who live in a particular country. Demographic, historical, cultural, economic, religious, and political information.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events in the news. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context is a truly non-U.S. centric resource that ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues. You can browse by issues and topics, view streaming video, or search by region of the world using an interactive world map.

CIA World Factbook
A freely-available resource provided by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.
Society for Cultural Anthropology
The Society for Cultural Anthropology, a section of the American Anthropological Association, constitutes a continuing effort to think expansively about the anthropological endeavor. That is, to explore how different people inhabit the imponderabilia of everyday life, to situate how they navigate conditions of both possibility and constraint, and to remain both ethnographically engaged and theoretically pioneering.
Cultural Anthropology journal
Cultural Anthropology publishes ethnographic writing informed by a wide array of theoretical perspectives, innovative in form and content, and focused on both traditional and emerging topics. It also welcomes essays concerned with ethnographic methods and research design in historical perspective, and with ways cultural analysis can address broader public audiences and interests.

Scholarly Journal Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for 4000 academic social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Search full-text periodicals covering the social sciences.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text for 400 core journals in the field of sociology, as well as the full-text of more than 700 books.
Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.

ANTH 102 Introduction to Cultural Anthropology: Research Databases & Websites

OwlSearch

Background Info Databases & Websites

Scholarly Journal Databases