Engineering & Physics: Websites

Physics Publications and Resources

The NTRS is a valuable resource for students, educators, researchers, and the public for access to NASA's current and historical technical literature since it was first released in 1994. NTRS provides access to approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos. The type of information found in NTRS include: conference papers, images, journal articles, photos, meeting papers, movies, patents, research reports, and technical videos.

"Physics research at NIST includes everything from improving the safety of medical radiation procedures to developing future "quantum information" technologies that generate unbreakable codes. NIST provides the measurements, standards, and technical expertise scientists and industries need to push the limits of the fundamental properties of nature."

This guide is from the University of Maryland's Engineering and Physical Science's Library. Tips on how to search for and use patent and trademark information, and links to online sources that provide this information.

Welcome to the National Space Science Data Center, NASA's permanent archive for space science mission data.

"The American Astronomical Society (AAS), established 1899, is the major organization of professional astronomers in North America. The membership (~7,000) also includes physicists, mathematicians, geologists, engineers and others whose research interests lie within the broad spectrum of subjects now comprising contemporary astronomy."

Science.gov searches over 42 databases and over 2000 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information. Broad topics include, among others, Applied Science & Technology, Physics and Chemistry.

A topical directory of USGS science programs and activities. It provides definitions, links to science content, and a structured approach to discovery. Some subject areas included: Chesapeake Bay Activities, Ecology and Environment, Environmental Issues, Plants and Animals, and Water Resources.

"IEEE Spectrum magazine is the flagship publication of the IEEE, the world's largest professional technology association. It is a monthly magazine for technology innovators, business leaders, and the intellectually curious. Spectrum explores future technology trends and the impact of those trends on society and business."