Subject Guides: CJ 103 Introduction to Corrections: Online Databases & Reference Sources

Search Tips

When searching databases, follow these tips:

Use keywords, words you expect to find in the article.
Use quotation marks around phrases or concepts of two or more words, e.g., "video games".
Combine your keywords with boolean operators:
Using AND will retrieve articles that contain all of your keywords, e.g., "video games" AND violence.
Using OR will retrieve articles that contain one or more of your keywords, e.g., ("video games" OR "online games").
Using NOT will retrieve articles that do not contain a specific keyword, e.g., "video games" NOT Wii.

Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for 4000 academic social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
A single source for eReference aimed at students, researchers, professionals, and general readers. It offers thousands of titles from more than 100 publishers covering the most-studied subject areas on one platform.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Collection provides full text access or abstracts for periodicals in criminal justice and law enforcement.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of more than 7,000 full-text reports and publications in crime, criminal justice, victims, prison populations, drugs, court systems and corrections.
Military Database This link opens in a new window
Search a comprehensive collection of material on military subjects such as defense, aeronautics and space flight, civil engineering, political science, and more.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides reporting and analysis of local, regional, national, and international news. Newspapers included are: The New York Times (1980- Present), The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Guardian, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post.
New York Times (1980 - Current) This link opens in a new window
Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.