Subject Guides: EDUC 101 Introduction to Education: Research Databases

Search Tips

When searching in databases, remember to:

Use "AND" in between terms if you want them all to be included in the articles. Begin with only one or two terms and add more if you need fewer or more specific results.
If you are not getting good results with the terms you're using, try synoyms or related search terms. Use the Thesaurus in ERIC for ideas for more terms.
Consult a Reference Librarian for help with searching. We are here to help!

OwlSearch Tips & Tricks

Databases

OwlSearch This link opens in a new window
HCC Library's discovery tool for accessing simultaneously many of our databases, ebook and streaming video collections, and the library catalog.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center contains full text of more than 2,200 digests as well as citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for 4000 academic social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Offers in depth information on myriad educational topics from nearly 400 leading journals in the field. The database covers not only literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering over 160 subjects. It includes the full-text of over 400 newspapers, nearly 30,000 dissertations and millions of articles from scholarly journals
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the archives of over 390 academic journals in the arts and sciences. Good for access to older literature, sometimes as far back as the late-1800s, if you are looking for information from an historical perspective.
World Education Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
This country-by-country survey of educational systems provides detailed essays on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries