Subject Guides: Racial Inequities and Systemic Racism: Find Articles

Search Tips

Off-campus access requires your Owlnet user name and password
Use keywords, not complete sentences
Double check your spelling--the databases won't intuit your meaning
Use the field limiters (subject, author, people)
Subject terms are hyperlinked in records--click to find other items that have that same subject
Use the limiters on the left side of the results page to narrow by date and/or source type
Put phrases and complete names in quotation marks (this works best in OwlSearch)
Combine search terms with AND to make your results more specific
Combine search terms with OR to broaden your results

Databases

Locate articles using these online databases.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for 4000 academic social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals.
Academic Video Online Premium This link opens in a new window
(Alexander Street Press) Watch high-quality video content on a broad range of subject areas.
Arts & Humanities This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing full-text journals, full-text books, and images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including artists, designers, students and researchers.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text content from encyclopedias, dictionaries and thesuari, and covers such subjects as art, history, literature, medicine, technology and more.
Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
The leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content, relating to the Health Sciences.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
History Reference Center offers full text from more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 120 history periodicals, more than 59,600 historical documents, 49,600 biographies of historical figures, more than 110,200 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Nexis UNI This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database for news, business, legal, medical, and general reference sources. You can also validate your legal research more quickly and completely with their Shepard's Citations Service. Shepard’s helps you easily confirm that your case law citations are still good law.
OwlSearch This link opens in a new window
HCC Library's discovery tool for accessing simultaneously many of our databases, ebook and streaming video collections, and the library catalog.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of leading political science, public policy, and international relations journals. It also includes thousands of recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering over 160 subjects. It includes the full-text of over 400 newspapers, nearly 30,000 dissertations and millions of articles from scholarly journals.

Racial Inequities and Systemic Racism: Find Articles

Online Articles

Search Tips

Databases