Subject Guides: Shakespeare: Shakespeare's Complete Works

Complete works available at HCC

The Complete Works of William Shakespeare by William Shakespeare
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780585005171

Complete Works Online

There are several online resources that offer the complete works of William Shakespeare. Some are searchable. Use the one that suits you best!

The Complete Works of William Shakespeare
The Complete Works, posted online by MIT.
Folger Shakespeare Library- Shakespeare's Works
Includes the plays and sonnets
Internet Shakespeare Editions
Click on the Plays and Poems tab on this site to find the complete text of, and more information about, his work.
Open Source Shakespeare
A project of a Masters project at George Mason University, this site is searchable by text and by character.
Shakespeare in Quatro
The British Library presents high resolution scans of their original copies of 21 plays by Shakespeare printed in quarto before 1642.

Library Catalog Quick Search

Shakespeare manuscript

Shakespeare's First Folio, containing 36 of his plays, was published in 1623. It was the first collection of his works. Image from The Library of Birmingham

Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for 4000 academic social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Contains authoritative critical essays, biographies, overviews, topics and themes for literature from the earliest times to the present.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text content from encyclopedias, dictionaries and thesuari, and covers such subjects as art, history, literature, medicine, technology and more
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the archives of over 390 academic journals in the arts and sciences
Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new window
A completely full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text criticism, biographical and other information on 2,500 of the most-studied authors
Salem Press: Literature This link opens in a new window
Salem Literature is a great place to investigate the connections between authors and works of profound and lasting cultural influence. Writers in all genres are profiled by respected literary critics in our new Critical Insights series

Literary Criticism

Below are just a few of the books of literary criticism about Shakespeare's works. These are general texts. For work-specific texts, please go to the play you are looking for on the category page.

The Bible in Shakespeare by Hannibal Hamlin
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780199677610
Publication Date: 2013-11-01
The Edinburgh Companion to Shakespeare and the Arts by Adrian Streete (Editor); Ramona Wray (Editor); Mark Thornton Burnett (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780748635238
Publication Date: 2011-10-31
Shakespeare's Freedom by Stephen Greenblatt
Call Number: PR2976 .G738 2010
ISBN: 9780226306667
Publication Date: 2010-11-15
Explores these four themes that run throughout Shakespeare's works: beauty, hatred, authority, and autonomy.

HCC main collection (3rd floor)
Shakespeare's Individualism by Peter Holbrook
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780521760676
Publication Date: 2010-01-21
Shakespeare: the Basics by Sean McEvoy
Call Number: PR2976 .M34 2012
ISBN: 9780415682800
Publication Date: 2012-06-21
Shakespeare and Costume by Patricia Lennox (Editor); Bella Mirabella (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781472525079
Publication Date: 2015-04-23
Shakespeare for Students by Anne Marie Hacht
ISBN: 9781414412559
Publication Date: 2007-08-06
Online resource. You will need your Owlnet username and password for off-campus access.