Publishing in Scholarly Journals-Scholarly & Creative Recognition at Harford Community College: By Year

Andrews, Faith, et al. "The Flipped Classroom: An Innovative Approach for Student Success." Instructional Forum A Journal of Pedagogical Practices Across Maryland Community Colleges, vol. 36, no. 1, spring 2023, pp. 4-7. 

Ben Fisler, actor. Body of Work. Directed by Rachel Borgo, 2022. 

     --- Beyond Your Consciousness. Directed by Rinoj Varghese, Gold Hive Media, 2022. 

     --- Macbeth. July 2022, Prince George's Shakespeare in the Park, Prince George's. 

Girardi, Amanda, et al. "The Flipped Classroom: An Innovative Approach for Student Success." Instructional Forum A Journal of Pedagogical Practices Across Maryland Community Colleges, vol. 36, no. 1, spring 2023, pp. 4-7. 

Hallock, Stephanie. "Disruption in an Open-Access Institution." Pandemic Pedagogy, edited by Andrew A. Szarejko, Cham., Palgrave Macmillan, 2022. Political Pedagogies. 

King, Supawan. "From Sour Chemistry to a Better Buy In." NISOD Innovation Abstracts, vol. 45, no. 3, 16 Feb. 2023. 

Moll, Tonee. You Cannot Save Here. Washington Writers' Publishing House, 2022. 

Neff, Heidi. Crowd Control. Exhibition, September 8-October 2, 2022. Amos Eno Gallery, New York. 

Powers, Jessica, et al. "The Flipped Classroom: An Innovative Approach for Student Success." Instructional Forum A Journal of Pedagogical Practices Across Maryland Community Colleges, vol. 36, no. 1, spring 2023, pp. 4-7. 

Johnson, Richard, composer.  Susquehanna River, October, 2022. 

Wohlers, Tony. Biopolitics at 50 Years: Founding and Evolution. Emerald Publishing, 2022. 

Benson, Catherine E.  "A Case of Mistaken Identity: Genetic and Morphological Evidence for the Presence of Redeye Bass in the Verde River, Arizona."  Journal of Fish and Wildlife Management, vol. 12, no. 2, Dec. 2021, pp. 554-64.

Chuffo, Paul, composer.  The Long Goodbye, 2021.

Lewis, Cynthia, "Developing a Successful Dual Enrollment Program." NISOD Innovation Abstracts, vol. 43, no. 19, 27 May 2021. 

      ---  "Incorporating Soft Skills Through Team-Based Learning: Applications for Accounting Principles Courses"  Business Education Forum, vol. 75, no. 4, summer 2021, p. 9. National Business Education Association.

Neff, Heidi, producer. The Long Goodbye, 2021.

Wiglesworth, Miriam, "Developing a Successful Dual Enrollment Program." NISOD Innovation Abstracts, vol. 43, no. 19, 27 May 2021. 

Adams, Andrew, et al. "Don't Tread on Me: An Examination of the Anti-Predatory Behavior of Eastern Copperheads (Agkistrodon Contortrix)." Acta Herpetologica, vol. 15, no. 1, 2020, pp. 31-37.

Galvan, Sonia, MS, RN, CNE, et al. Health Literacy as a Social Determinant of Health. U of Maryland Baltimore, 6 Apr. 2021.

Hutton, Laura. "Improving the Behavior of Children With Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders." Teaching Exceptional Children,  14 Jan. 2021.

Krenzien, Nicollette.  "Meeting of the Minds: Using Linked Courses to Increase Retention and Completion." NISOD Innovation Abstracts, vol. 43, no. 3, 4 Feb. 2021.

Tittle, Lisa. "Meeting of the Minds: Using Linked Courses to Increase Retention and Completion." NISOD Innovation Abstracts, vol. 43, no. 3, 4 Feb. 2021.

Adams, Jessica, and John Bray. "Perfecting the recipe: Making the right decision for a blend of content in a pre-statistics course." Reforming mathematics in Maryland: Stories from the journey, 2019, pp. 55-63.

Calia-Lotz, Gina. "The Framework as Pedagogical Tool: Teaching Source Integration." The Information Literacy Framework: Case Studies of Successful Implementation, edited by Heidi E. Julien, Melissa Gross, and Don Latham, Association for Library and Information Science Education, 2020.

Donahue, John, and Regina Roof-Ray. "Interdisciplinary Off-Campus Experiences." NISOD Innovation Abstracts, vol. XLII, no. 7, 5 Mar. 2020.

Helton, Gary L. Baltimore: Radio and Television. Charleston, Arcadia Publishing, 2019.

Madden, Jaclyn, et. al., "Recommendations for Effective Integration of Ethics and Responsible Conduct of Research (E/RCR) Education into Course-Based Undergraduate Research Experiences: A Meeting Report." CBE-Life Sciences Education, vol. 18, no. 2, June 2019.

Pape-Lindstrom, Pamela, et al. "Resources for Teaching and Assessing the Vision and Change Biology Core Concepts." CBE—Life Sciences Education, vol. 19, no. 2, May 2020.

Stephens, Teresa, et al. "Object correspondence: Using perceived causality to infer how the visual system knows what went where." Attention, Perception, & Psychophysics, vol. 82, no. 1, Jan. 2020.

Allen, Sheila.  "Alternate Routes to Teaching." School Administrator, vol. 75, no. 11, Dec. 2018, pp. 30-34.

Craley, Andie. "A Community of Collaboration." Reference & User Services Quarterly, vol. 58, no. 2, Winter 2018, pp. 73-75.

Fisler, Ben, performer. The Tragedy of Macbeth, King of Scotland. July-August 2018, Baltimore Shakespeare Factory, Baltimore, MD. Performance.

Huddleston, Miriam. "Teaching Dually-Enrolled High School Students." NISOD Innovation Abstracts, vol. XL, no. 26, 23 Aug. 2018.

Lewis, Cynthia. "Mixing Old and New Teaching Methods to Get Better Student Results." CPA Journal, vol. 88, no. 9, Sept. 2018, pp. 8-9.

Pape-Lindstrom, Pamela, et al. "Reading Quizzes Improve Exam Scores for Community College Students." CBE—Life Sciences Education, vol. 17, no. 2, 11 May 2018.

Pierleoni, Gina. What Makes Us. Exhibition. August-September, 2018, Creative Alliance Main Gallery, Baltimore, MD.

     --- Untitled Flag. Exhibition. March 17 - May 12, 2019, Gallery Unicorn, Towson, MD.

Roof-Ray, Regina. "Let Me Take a Selfie." NISOD Innovation Abstracts, vol. XL, no. 24, 2 Aug. 2018.

     ---  "Increasing Research Knowledge Through a Simple Research Activity." NISOD Innovation Abstracts, vol. XL, no. 40, 6 Dec. 2018.

Calia-Lotz, Gina. "Open-Faced Formative Assessment." The Library Assessment Cookbook, edited by Aaron Dobbs, Association of College & Research Libraries, 2017, pp. 51-52.

Danner, Madelyn. "Complications." Cardiovascular Care Made Incredibly Visual!," edited by Mary Ann McLaughlin, 3rd ed., Wolters Kluwer, 2019, pp. 197-215.

Hallock, Stephanie and Fary Sami. "A Global Learning Infusion for Introduction to Statistics." MathAMATYC Educator, vol. 8, no. 3, May 2017, p. 31+.

Holmes, Elizabeth, and Lisa Tittle. Reading and Writing with Resolve. Kendall Hunt, 2017.

Huddleston, Miriam. "Using a Free App to Get Students More Engaged in the Classroom." NISOD Innovation Abstracts, vol. 39, no. 30, 7 Dec. 2017.

Huddleston, Miriam, and Shane Wiglesworth. "Nurturing Classroom Engagement." NISOD Innovation Abstracts, vol. 40, no. 15, 26 Apr. 2018..

Kellett, Andrew. The British Blues Network: Adoption, Emulation, and Creativity. University of Michigan Press, 2017.

Neff, Heidi. Visceral Takeover. Exhibition, March 1-25, 2018, Amos Eno Gallery, New York.

O'Reilly, Bart. "My Lost Summer Bird" and “These Colors Run” and “Through Tears I See.” The Woven Tale Press, 6 Dec. 2017, .

Pierleoni, Gina. Portraits of US. Exhibition, November 5-December 31, 2017, Main Gallery, Montpelier Arts Center, Laurel, MD.

Roof-Ray, Regina. "Low-Stakes Exams: Example of Strategy Assessment." NISOD Innovation Abstracts, vol. XL, no. 12, 5 Apr. 2018.

Sami, Fary, and Stephanie Hallock. "A Global Learning Infusion for Introduction to Statistics." MathAMATYC Educator, vol. 8, no. 3, May 2017, p. 31+.

Tittle, Lisa and Elizabeth Holmes. Reading and Writing with Resolve. Kendall Hunt, 2017.

Wiglesworth, Shane and Miriam Huddleston. "Nurturing Classroom Engagement." NISOD Innovation Abstracts, vol. 40, no. 15, 26 Apr. 2018.

Allen, Sheila, et al. “Alternative Certification Teacher and Candidate Retention: Measures of Educator Preparation, Certification, and School Staffing Effectiveness.” Journal of the National Association for Alternative Certification, vol. 11, no. 2, 2016.

Baker, James L. (Accuracy Checker and Supplemental Author). Horngren's Accounting, by Tracie Miller-Nobles et al., 12th ed., Boston, Pearson, 2017.

Brown, Claudia. “From Writing for the College Newspaper to Multimedia Journalism.” College Media Review, 7 Mar. 2017.

Elliott, Bill. “Assisting the Military/Veteran Client: Practical Advice for Helping Those Who Have Served.” Career Developments, vol. 33, no. 1, Dec. 2016.

Lashley, Katherine. “The Metaphor of the Cattle Chute in Temple Grandin's Books.” Disability and the Environment in American Literature: Toward an Ecosomatic Paradigm, edited by Matthew Cella, Lexington Books, 2016.

Mathias, Janet. Black Dog. Greg Moon Art, Taos, NM. “After Dark 5” Exhibition, Jun. 24 – Jul. 15, 2016.

________.  Vision Quest: Paintings and Collage by Janet Mathias. Greenbelt Community Center Art Gallery, Greenbelt, MD. Exhibition, Apr. 26 – Jun. 10, 2016.

Mosser, Elizabeth A. “How Students Can - and Should - Contribute to the Rubric Creation Process.” NISOD Innovation Abstracts, vol. 38, no. 13, 22 Apr. 2016.

Pierleoni, Gina. In Session: Selections from the WE ARE THEM Series. State House Building, Annapolis, MD. Exhibition, Jan. – Apr. 2017.

________.  “Lamentation” and “The Deepest Sleep.”  The Light Ekphrastic, issue 28, Nov. 2016.

Tittle, Lisa M. “STEM Degrees Are Not Earned By Math Alone.” Diverse Issues In Higher Education, vol. 32, no. 14, 13 Aug. 2015.

Grissom, Dawn, et al. "Heritage Health Resources." Journal of Critical Incidents, vol. 8, fall 2015, pp. 87-89.

Hepler, Wayne, director.  Pirate Radio: Taking Back the Airwaves, Lionheart FilmWorks, 2015.

Jones, Christopher. "Connections: Integrals of the Form ∫Fn (x)dx, Reduction Formulas, and Finite Series Representations." MathAMATYC Educator, vol. 7, no. 2, Feb. 2016.

Lewis, Cynthia. Demo Documents and Solutions for Accounting 101 and 102. Horngren's Accounting by Tracie L. Miller-Nobles, Brenda L. Mattison, and Ella Mae Matsumura.11th ed., Boston, Pearson, 2015.

Bray, John and Fary Sami. “A Semester Project for Introduction to Statistics Using Student-Generated Data.” MathAMATYC Educator 6.1 (2014): 59-65. 

Cavanaugh, Betty, performer. Upper Chesapeake Chorus. Baltimore Convention Center, Baltimore. Nov. 2014.

Danner, Madelyn. “Comparison of 1 Long vs 2 Shorter Clinical Days on Clinical Learning Outcomes of Nursing Students.” Nurse Educator 39.6 (2014): 280-284.

Fisler, Ben, performer. Measure for Measure. By William Shakespeare. Baltimore Shakespeare Factory, Baltimore. 2014. 

Fisler, Ben, performer. Richard III. By William Shakespeare. Baltimore Shakespeare Factory, Baltimore. 2014. 

Karmel, James, curator. Harford Voices: An Oral History Exhibit.  Harford Community College, 2013. 

Pierleoni, Gina. CODING: Artists + Their Creative DNA. 2015. Portsmouth Art and Cultural Center. Portsmouth, VA.

Pierleoni, Gina. For Whom It Stands TOO. 2014. Star-Spangled Banner Flag House. Baltimore, MD.

Pierleoni, Gina. Gina Pierleoni: Color Coded. 2014. The Gallery at CCBC Dundalk.  Dundalk, MD.

Sami, Fary and John Bray. “A Semester Project for Introduction to Statistics Using Student-Generated Data.” MathAMATYC Educator 6.1 (2014): 59-65. 

Smithson, Christopher T., et.al.  “Correcting the Record on Watson, Rayner, and Little Albert: Albert Barger as ‘Psychology’s Lost Boy.’”American Psychologist 69.6 (2014): 600-611.

Stowers, Sharon. “Salvadorian immigrant women and the culinary making of gendered identities: ‘food grooming’ as a class and meaning-making process.” Women Redefining the Experience of Food Insecurity: Life Off the Edge of the Table. Ed. Page-Reeves, Janet. Lexington Books, 2014. 193-226. 

Danner, Madelyn and Laura Cianelli Preston. “Development of Accelerated Options in an Associate Degree Nursing Program.” Teaching and Learning in Nursing 9.2 (2014): 80-83.

Madden, Jaclyn A.  Review of Case Studies in Allergic Disorders, by Hans Oettgen and Raif Geha. The American Biology Teacher May 2014: 354. 

Mathias, Janet. Alchemical Vessels. Washington, D.C.: Joan Hisaoka Art Gallery at Smith Center for Healing and the Arts, April 26 – June 7, 2013.

Rappazzo, Wendy M. Biochemistry and Cell Biology: The Science of Life. 2^nd ed. Dubuque: Kendall Hunt, 2013.

Rappazzo, Wendy M. and Jaclyn Madden. Biochemistry and Cell Biology: The Science of Life Laboratory Manual. Dubuque: Kendall Hunt, 2013. 

Sami, Fary and Stephen Krevisky. “What is the Relevance of TIMSS and PISA Data for Mathematics Educators?” MathAMATYC Educator 5.3 (2014): 4-7.

Stowers, Sharon. “Gastronomic Nostalgia: Salvadoran Immigrants’ Cravings for their Ideal Meal.” Ecology of Food and Nutrition 51.5 (2012):374-93.

Ball, Jeffrey K., et al. The Art of the Missouri Capitol: History in Canvas, Bronze, and Stone. Columbia, U of Missouri P, 2011.

Jones, Christopher W. "Relating Limits and Infinite Geometric Series through Application." MathAMATYC Educator, vol. 4, no. 2, Feb. 2013, pp. 14-16.

Kellett, Andrew. "Born in Chicago: Impact of the Paul Butterfield Blues Band on the British Blues 'Network,' 1964-1970." Transatlantic Roots Music: Folk, Blues, and National Identities, edited by Neil Wynn and Jill Terry, Jackson, University Press of Mississippi, 2012, pp. 232-66.

Pierleoni, Gina. We Are Them. Exhibition. October, 2012, Subtle Rebellion Gallery, Abingdon, MD.

Pierleoni, Gina, illus. Annie's Tails. By Stacy Ann Murphy. Dublin, New Hampshire: ASL Tales, 2013.

Sami, Fary. "South Korea: A Success Story in Mathematics Education." MathAMATYC Educator, vol. 4, no. 2, Feb. 2013, pp. 22-28.

Schaeffer, Scott D. Introduction. Applied Anatomy & Physiology: A Case Study Approach, by Brian R. Shmaefsky, 2nd. ed., St. Paul, EMC Publishing, 2013.

Schaeffer, Scott D. A.D.A.M. Interactive Anatomy online : student lab activity guide. 4th. ed., Philadelphia, Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2013.

Younkin, Kerri N., et al. "A Prototype Mass Spectrometer for In Situ Analysis of Cave Atmospheres." Review of Scientific Instruments, vol. 83, no. 10, Oct. 2012, pp. 105116-12. 

Corkran, Victoria. "Summertime." The Gunpowder Review, 2011.

Fisler, Ben, performer. Ghost Walk Murders. 10 Feb. 2012 - 23 Jun. 2012, Touring Murder Mystery Theater.

Fisler, Ben, performer. The Great Clue Murder. 29 Oct. 2011 - 26 May 2012, Touring Murder Mystery Theater.

Fisler, Ben, performer. A Doll's House. Dec. 2010 and Mar. 2012, The Norwegian Royal Embassy Residence.

Fisler, Ben, performer. Murder on the Vine. 2 Apr. 2011 - 11 Feb. 2012, Touring Murder Mystery Theater.

Fisler, Ben, performer. The Comedy of Errors. 2008, Ellicott City, MD.

---, performer. The Tempest. 2008, Ellicott City, MD.

Gordon, Christopher, et al. "Raman Spectroscopy Using a Spatial Heterodyne Spectrometer: Proof of Concept." Applied Spectroscopy, vol. 65, no. 8, Aug. 2011, pp. 849-57. Academic Search Premier.

Hallock, Stephanie A. The World in the 20th Century: A Thematic Approach. Boston, Pearson, 2013.

Host, Laurie A., et. al. "Lavandula stoechas putative glyceraldehye-3-phosphate dehydrogenase gene, partial cds." GenBank. National Center for Biotechnology Information. 2011.

Host, Laurie A. "Detecting Genetically Modified Food by PCR." The American Biology Teacher, vol. 74, no. 2, 2012, p. 128. JSTOR.

Krsolovic, Ken, and Bryan Fritz. League Park: Historic Home of Cleveland Baseball, 1891-1946. Jefferson, McFarland, 2012.

Muaddi-Darraj, Susani, editor. Approaches to Teaching the Works of Naguib Mahfouz. New York City, Modern Language Association of America, 2012.

Rappazzo, Wendy. Biochemistry and Cell Biology: The Science of Life. Dubuque, IA, Kendall Hunt, 2012.

Russell, Benny. Just Before Autumn. Nguzo Saba Publishing/ASCAP, 2011.

Sami, Fary. "The Singapore System: An Example of How the U.S. Can Improve Its Mathematics Education System." MathAMATYC Educator, vol. 3, no. 2, 2012. Academic Search Premier.

This list includes works published within the last 10 years.

Anderson-Himmelspach, Neil. McHenry's Anacreonatic Song. 2009. AWM Publishing, 2011.

---. Salvador Dreams. 2005. Tuba-Euphonium Press, 2011.

---. Symphony No. 1. 2009. AWM Publishing, 2011.

---. Vanguard. 2006. Dorn Publications, 2010.

Avitts, Ellen. "Line Dance: Abraham Walkowitz's Drawings of Isadora Duncan." Review of Exhibit at University Gallery at the University of Delaware, Newark. American Art Review, vol. 12, no. 6, Nov.-Dec. 2000, pp. 166-67.

Avitts, Ellen. "Doesn't It Look Like a Happy Place to Live? The Stories Embedded in Today's Model Homes." MIT4: The Work of Stories, Boston, MIT, 2005. Massachusetts Institute of Technology, web.mit.edu/comm-forum/legacy/mit4/papers/menefee.pdf.

Caffo, Albert L. "Laboratory Calculations." Contemporary Practice in Clinical Chemistry, edited by William Clarke, 2nd. ed., AACC Press, 2011.

Cox, John. "Private Giving and State Funding of Maryland's Public Institutions: New Perspectives on Support of Historically Black Institutions." International Journal of Educational Advancement, vol. 10, no. 3, Dec. 2010, pp. 166-85.

Fary, Sami. "Course Format Effects on Learning Outcomes in an Introductory Statistics Course." MathAMATYC Educator, vol. 2, no. 2, 2011, pp. 48-51.

Neff, Heidi. Fire and Ice. 2011, Juried Solo Exhibition Greater Reston Arts Center. 98 individual panels separated into two rooms.

Smith, Richard. "Blogging in Higher Education." Title: Internet Issues : Blogging, the Digital Divide and Digital Libraries, by Cassie M. Evans, e-book ed., New York City, Nova Science Publishers Inc., 2010, pp. 71-82.

Tsmais-Kavouras, Vasiliki J., et al. "Hazing Typologies: Those Who Criminally Haze and Those Who Receive Criminal Hazing." Victims and Offenders, vol. 3, no. 2/3, May 2008, pp. 258-74.

---. "The Relationship Between Encoding Ability and Aggressive Behavior." Applied Psychology in Criminal Justice, vol. 5, no. 1, 2009, pp. 57-72.

2010 was the first year for the annual recognition of scholarly and creative works published by HCC employees.

This list includes works published within the last 10 years.

Allen, Sheila, et al. Spotlight on Schools of Education: Institutional Responses to NCATE Standards 1 and 2. Washington, National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, 2006.

Avitts, Ellen. "Home Staging in Twenty-First Century America: Doesn't It Look Like a Happy Place to Live." American Studies in Scandinavia, vol. 42, no. 1, 2010, pp. 57-80. EBSCOhost, https://doi.org/10.22439/asca.v42i1.4469.

Backhaus, Gary. Symbolic Landscapes. Edited by John Murungi, Dordrecht, Springer Netherlands, 2009.

Backhaus, Gary. Dangers in the Incommensurability of Globalization: Socio-political Volatilities. Edited by John Murungi, e-book ed., Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2009.

Bayar, Manolya, et al. Study Guide, Lifespan Development, Second Edition. Boston, Houghton Mifflin, 2000.

Fisler, Ben. Review of Taming of the Shrew, Pennsylvania Shakespeare Festival, Philadelphia. Shakespeare Bulletin, vol. 25, no. 4, winter 2007, pp. 101-06.

Fisler, Ben. Review of Theatre and Travel: Tours of the South, by Susan Kattwinkel. Baylor Journal of Theatre and Performance, vol. 4, no. 2, 2007, pp. 89-91.

Fox, Laura, Playwright. "The Professor's Wife." Baltimore Playwright's Festival, 17 Feb. 2004, Baltimore. Reading.

Galbraith, James. "Divine and the Human." Green Hills Literary Lantern, vol. 13, no. 2, 2003, p. 83. The Green Hills Literary Lantern.

---. Review of Nazi Literature in the Americas, by Roberto Bolano. Baltimore Review, vol. 14, no. 1, 2008, pp. 83-85.

---. Review of The Savage Detectives, by Roberto Bolano. Baltimore Review, vol. 12, no. 2, 2008, pp. 89-91.

---. Review of The Skating Rink and the Romantic Dogs, by Roberto Bolano. Baltimore Review, vol. 12, no. 2, 2008, pp. 85-88.

Jones, Kenneth. A Child Builds a Home and Five New Tears. 2003, Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation, Baltimore. 9x9 New Prints by Mid Atlantic Art Foundation's Creative Fellows.

Karmel, James R. Gambling on the American Dream: Atlantic City and the Casino Era. London, Pickering & Chatto, 2008.

Muaddi-Darraj, Susan. The Inheritance of Exile: Stories from South Philly. Notre Dame UP, 2007.

Pastelak, Marianne, librettist. Harford Community College Fight Song. 2010. Composed by Neil Anderson-Himmelspach, Ken Jones, Designer, and Paul Labe, Jr. Producer, 2010.

Pierleoni, Gina. Passing Through: A Multi Media Journey from Here to There and Winter. 2006, James Backas Gallery, Baltimore: Maryland State Arts Council.

Weisser, Barbara. "The Purple Punishment." Gunpowder Review, Oct. 2009, p. 23.